Homemade Dill Pickles

file_000-10

Here’s the thing: I hate pickles. I think they ruin everything they touch: sandwiches, hamburgers, hotdogs, you name it. I’ve learned to order my Chick-fil-A sandwiches without them because they just make the bread all soggy and the taste just lingers. I thought people who ate plain pickles had to be clinically insane.

But then, I ate my first real pickle. Not that mushy crap from the jar, but a real, authentic pickled cucumber. It was crunchy, salty and dill-flavored goodness I sampled at my local farmer’s market. Since then, I’ve been searching for a grocery store alternative that could pass for something that was once a cucumber. I didn’t succeed.

My friends, then I decided to make my own, because it’s really easy. Like embarrassingly easy. There’s only 6 ingredients. (Five, if you don’t count water.) And they taste so great. They’re crisp, dill-y, and full of non-grocery-shelf goodness.

For this recipe I used 2 huge cucumbers I got from the farmer’s market. It was the perfect amount to fill up two mason jars. I just halved the spears so they would fit.

Ingredients:

– 2 cucumbers

– 1/2 cup white vinegar

– 1 and 1/4 cup water

– 3/4 tablespoon salt

– 6-8 fresh dill springs

– 2 cloves garlic, minced

– Peppercorns, to taste (optional)

1. In a medium saucepan, bring water and vinegar to a boil, then add salt.

2. Stir and let cool completely.

3. Meanwhile, cut cucumbers in desired way: chips, spears, etc.

4. Add dill springs to jar, followed by cucumbers. Stuff in as many as will possibly fit.

5. Add garlic and peppercorns, if desired, over the cucumbers.

6. Once the brine has cooled, pour over the cucumbers until the jar is full.

7. Seal and put in the fridge. Let them pickle for 1-3 days (the flavor develops more the longer they sit.)

They should keep fine in the fridge for a few weeks.

And that’s all there is to these babies. They’re so easy and infinitely better than anything store bought. I eat them on sandwiches, hamburgers, or just plain for a quick tangy snack. They’re good with everything! Enjoy!

1f2247_f38101d70a494a1d91bba570b3057a90-mv2_d_2346_1797_s_2.jpg

One thought on “Homemade Dill Pickles

Leave a Reply

