It’s Christmas Time + Blogmas 2016

Well, it’s official. Our Christmas decor is up. It’s December 2nd, so it’s high time to have it up and ready. If it were up to me, I would have skipped Thanksgiving and put up the tree on November 1st. I don’t have anything against Thanksgiving, it’s just that in my head, once it’s November, fall is over and it’s time for winter, aka Christmas season.

img_1955

My theme this year is rustic glam, or “cover everything in metal tones and plaid and fur and burlap.” I like how it turned out! It’s very elegant but also has elements of the traditional Christmas decor. I also like any excuse to put up white twinkle lights (which I will probably leave up until February, just because I like their ambiance.)


I am one of those people who love love loves decorating for holidays. I decorate as soon as it’s socially acceptable. (Even though I’ve had my decorations prepped and ready to go since mid-November.) Spending time with friends and family while holiday music plays in the background, wearing fuzzy socks and sipping on hot chocolate and snacking on double chocolate peppermint cookies sounds like a dream come true to me.


Christmastime is my absolute favorite time of the year, hands down. Having the decor up in my house just makes me so happy during this time. Everything is cozy and twinkly. Not to mention my whole home smells like pine trees, thanks to my Bath and Body Works wallflowers. Ahhh, it really is the most wonderful time of the year.

A big thing for me is also making a lot of my own decorations. I love to be able to make new things each year to fit my theme. It makes everything so unique and personalized, and I don’t have to have the same decorations year after year. Some glitter and a coat of spray paint can transform anything! Check out this DIY twig centerpiece I made the other day. It was so easy, and it can easily be transformed by switching out the ornaments and spray painting it a new color.

This is also a good time to mention that I will be doing my best to participate in Blogmas 2016. The concept is basically posting a new blog post each day of December. It’s a concept borrowed from the Youtube “Vlogmas.”

Considering this blog is very new and I’ve struggled in the past with keeping up with writing posts for blogs, I think this will be a great challenge for me. All of the posts are supposed to be related to Christmas, and I’ll try to stick with that for the most part, but there will surely be some posts that aren’t related to the holidays.

Let me know if any of you are participating in Blogmas as well! I’m also curious to know how everyone’s holiday decorations are coming along. As always, thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “It’s Christmas Time + Blogmas 2016

  1. thegirlwithanaccent says:

    I love the rustic feel of your Christmas decor!! I can’t wait to start decorating my apartment (I know I should have already but here, in the Netherlands, we’ve got Sinterklaas on the 5th of December so I’m waiting for that!) I’m doing Blogmas too! Or at least attempting at it haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

