Triple Berry Custard Pie

I know, I know. Berries aren’t really a winter thing. And I’m sure the last thing all you northerners want to do right now is spend $8 for a tub of out of season berries.

But here, in sunny Florida, any time is a great time for berries. And, it’s 83 degrees as I write this on December 14, so, while it’s not ideal to turn on the oven, it is ideal to make a pie that can be served chilled. It might as well be summer here.

I ended up with these three tubs of berries from my work, where they would have just been thrown away. I needed to use them up fast, so what better way than to throw them all into this pie?

The original recipe is a Berry Cherry Custard Pie from The Baker Chick but I switched it up a little. I omitted cherries and used strawberries, blueberries and raspberries instead. And I’m not entirely satisfied with how to custard came out. It’s more like a sponge cake when I wanted a pudding-like consistency. I was looking for a recipe that didn’t require tempering eggs (because that still scares me a little bit.) I also didn’t want my berries baked in the pie, but on top.

Ingredients

  • 1 pre-made refrigerated pie crust
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar + 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups of mixed berries (frozen works too! just thaw before use.)
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon turbinado sugar

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Roll out pie crust into 9 in pie pan. Press dough into pan and crimp the edges. Using a fork, gently poke holes in the bottom of the crust.


(Sorry for my horrible edges)

3. In a separate mixing bowl, add eggs, 2/3 cup sugar, flour, whipping cream and vanilla extract. Whisk until combined.


4. Pour mixture into pie crust and bake for 20-30 minutes or until set.

5. Meanwhile, in separate bowl, combine blueberries, raspberries and halved strawberries. Add remaining 1/4 cup sugar and cornstarch. Stir and let sit for remaining time pie bakes. The berries should release juice which will thicken with the cornstarch.


6. After custard has set, add berry mixture to top, pouring juice over everything. Add the turbinado sugar over the berries.

7. Replace pie back in oven for 20 more minutes. If edges become too brown, loosely cover pie with aluminum foil.

8. Remove pie after berries are soft and juice has thickened. Let cool to room temperature and then chill in refrigerator for at least 2 hours before serving.

9. To serve, add a dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Triple Berry Custard Pie

Leave a Reply

