Green Apple Green Smoothie

Good morning everyone! Today I have for you a cute little paleo green smoothie. One of my New Years resolutions was to try to eat paleo as much as possible. I can’t say it’s going super well yet, but I definitely have been more conscious about reading labels and making healthier choices for meals here and there.

After reading the label on one of my favorite breakfast smoothies, Naked Juice Blue Machine, I realized they really are not very good for you. Sure, there’s no sugar added and the ingredients are only fruit and (added) vitamins.

But upon closer inspection, there are 55g of sugar in just one bottle of Naked. That’s more than a can-size serving of Dr. Pepper. And more per ounce, too. Not to say that you’re better off drinking soda, but for the paleo diet, that sure is a lot of sugar, whether or not it’s “added.”

So, I knew I could make something healthier and more paleo-friendly. I love green apples and found them on sale, so I decided to use that as the foundation for my smoothie. I always find myself defaulting to berry smoothies, so I wanted to switch it up a bit. This green smoothie is perfect for vitamins and nutrients and it has an interesting flavor that’s anything but ordinary. Plus, it’s not too sweet, if that’s what you’re into.

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Granny Smith Apple
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk (or water, or fruit juice)
  • 1 drizzle of honey (optional)

Note: for a sweeter drink, try adding in a banana or pineapple

Note: The almond milk I used has added cane sugar so technically it is not paleo. Hey, I tried my best.

Makes one 8oz serving

 

I hope you enjoy this yummy and paleo green smoothie!

Leave a Reply

