January Book of the Month

Hey guys! As I mentioned briefly in my New Years Resolutions, one of my goals for 2017 is to read one book every single month.

I love to read and I was definitely the kind of person who stayed up until 4am reading all the way through a book, just because it was too good to put down. Ever since I’ve had a job and moved in with my boyfriend, I’ve just found that I don’t have the same time to read as I used to.

I don’t want to say that I have to force myself to make time to read, buttttttt….that’s pretty much what I’m doing. I know only one book per month isn’t very ambitious, but I wanted to start with something doable. One book per month will definitely be a challenge in itself for me.

Also, my definition of book is very loose. I’m planning on reading novels, poetry collections, and short story collections, like my very first book of the month:

“No one belongs here more than you.” by Miranda July


So I think the format I’m going to do with these blog posts, is make one post at the beginning of the month to introduce the book + my expectations, and one post at the end of the month to act as a book review where I talk about my favorite parts and pick out some quotes I really love.

Another thing I was thinking was that this could be kind of like a “digital book club” which is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. Basically you guys can choose to follow along with me and read the same book of the month, and at the end of the month, we can all discuss what we read. Let me know if this is something anyone would be interested in, and I can get something set up.

So, onto the book of the month. Honestly with most of the books I find to read, I just see them in pretty posts on tumblr and then look them up to see if they sound good. “No one belongs here more than you.” is a bookย of short stories (which is right up my alley) and it sounded good, so I decided to start with this for my January book of the month. Plus, I loved the title!

I’ve read that the stories are very poetic, quirky and beautiful. They give meaning to seemingly insignificant everyday moments in our lives. Some critiques say that some of the stories seem over-sexualized with no apparent relevance to the plot.

Overall, I’m super excited to get started on this book because I love beautiful prose. And reading short stories allows me to take a few days off from reading without forgetting what I just read! Let me know in the comments what you’re reading this month!

One thought on “January Book of the Month

Leave a Reply

