Bullet Journal Spotlight: Mood Mandala

Hello readers! How is everyone doing today? I’m so excited to share this post with you because it is my first ever collaboration with my blogging friend Tabi. She posts a ton of cute DIYs over on her blog, Busy Bee, and she recently started a bullet journal too! Seriously, if you are not following her already, you should be. Reading her blog and seeing her beautiful and cheerful photos is like my daily dose of happy!

Since she just got into bullet journaling, we wanted to each showcase one popular spread in a bullet journal and tell you everything there is to know about it, from how to make it, to ideas, to supplies we use. My post will be focusing on everything about mood mandala spreads in a bullet journal. Head over to Tabi’s post to check out what she wrote about!

So here we go, into the post!

 

What is a mood mandala?

A mood mandala is a way to track your mood each day of the month. Each day, you fill in the mandala with a colored ring, representing how you felt that day. Traditional mandalas involve many different geometric rings and elements, each representing something for the creator. In modern interpretation, mandalas are a reflection of the state of the inner self, which is what makes them perfect for tracking your daily moods.

 

Supplies to use

  • Pencil, to sketch out designs beforehand
  • Compass, to make perfect circles (or a large circle stencil set)
  • Ruler, for the intersecting guide lines
  • Pen, to ink the completed designs (I use a black Micron .50 mm)
  • Colored pencils, pens or markers, to fill in the colors (I prefer pencils because I found that markers bled through the page and into each other too much)

 

How to set up this spread

Many people choose to allot two pages, or a spread, to the mood mandala. Unless you are working with a large journal, such as an A4 size, it will be nearly impossible to fit rings for all the days as well as a key on one page. I recommend using two pages: the first page will mainly consist of the title, the color key, and possibly a quote or another doodle. The second page will be the mandala itself, and will probably spill outside the page and onto the first page as well.

The first thing I do is find the exact center of page 2 and draw a circle there. This will be the middle of the mandala.

I then make a few larger circles with my compass to ensure my elements are all the same size and shape. Then I draw vertical and horizontal lines intersecting in the center of the mandala, and then draw two more diagonal lines to create 8 equal segments around the mandala.

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

Then I just start drawing elements with pencil, whether they are flower petals, circles, leaves, zig zags, or whatever other thing you can think of. Just make sure they are all symmetrical and that you have one per segment.

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Many people choose to color in all the daily circles first and then draw the mandala over, but I like to color in the circles afterwards. This way I can erase my pencil marks without erasing the colored pencil circles.

Many people also draw out each individual circles for each day of the month, but I find that too tedious. I just kind of eyeball my circles, and I have the mandala that I already drew and measured to guide me.

The next thing you want to do is create the key. I have 6 moods on mine, but you can of course customize it to include as few or as many moods as you need. Also keep in mind here that these colors will be next to each other on your mandala, so make sure they look nice together. Another thing to keep in mind is what moods you know you will be feeling the most, and pick a good color for those, because there will be lot of it on your mandala.

FullSizeRender 4

On my first mandala I used yellow for “happy” and that was what I put for most of my days. So for my May mandala I switched it to pink, because I like that color more. Everything is a learning process, so just find whatever works for you!

FullSizeRender 6.jpg

 

Using the mood mandala spread

Ideally you will have your mandala drawn and set up before the first of the month, so it will be ready for you to start. Then, at the end of each day you just add a circle in the color corresponding to the mood you felt that day.

IMG_3949

When the month is done you will be left with a beautiful and colorful mandala that represents your moods for that month. Not only does it look pretty, but it can also be a useful tool for tracking moods. If you find that many of your days are sad or angry, or whatever it may be, you may want to consider changing something in your life or taking steps to make your days more happy!

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

 

 

And that’s all there is to it! These mandalas are consistently some of the most beautiful spreads in my journal. They are so fun and relaxing to make as well. Let me know in the comments if you have any questions or feedback about mood mandala spreads. I’d love to hear what you have to say!

And thanks again to Tabi for doing this awesome collaboration with me! ❤ Make sure you click over to her blog as soon as you finish reading this post!

 

blog-signature-1

 

LET’S BE FRIENDS:

Instagram  |  Tumblr  |  Pinterest  |  Bloglovin’

 

33 thoughts on “Bullet Journal Spotlight: Mood Mandala

  1. Tabi Bee says:

    Thank you soo much for collaborating!! I so enjoyed making the post, and oh my gosh I NEED to make this mood mandala in my bullet journal- it’s so amazing!! Thank youu again Lauren! ❤ 😉 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. janahpinku says:

    Wow, this is such a beautiful mandala. Thank you for providing tips on how to make a mood mandala. I will surely try to draw this in my journal.

    Also, so happy to see you collaborate with Tabi Bee. Both of you are so creative! 💕

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

