My State Park Day-Trip

Hello all! How was your weekend? On Saturday I was fortunate enough to take a day-trip over to Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park which is on the west coast of central Florida. I haven’t been there in quite some time and I thought it was about time to go back. I remember going there often with my grandparents when I was little. It was like a tradition every time I stayed with them over summer vacation, so it was also a little nostalgic to return.

I really like this park because it’s more like a zoo than a traditional state park. All the animals at the park are either retired actors who are too used to people to return the wild or injured beyond recovery.  The park houses a bunch of different species of native Florida animals from panthers, to deer to alligators. The only non-native resident is Lu, a hippopotamus who is the oldest living hippo in captivity! The other main attraction is the springs where manatees live! There’s a really cool underwater observatory where you can watch the manatees swim around and eat.

Going to all the different state parks in Florida is one of my life goals, because I think there’s just so much nature around us that we don’t normally stop to appreciate. So now I can check another park off my list (yes, I’ve been there before, but not enough to really remember it, and therefore check it off the list.)

Without further ado, here are some of the pictures from my trip!

 

img_5017img_4909img_4982

img_4882

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

Do you enjoy going to state parks in your state? Let me know your thoughts in the comments down below!

 

blog-signature-1

 

LET’S BE FRIENDS:

Instagram  |  Tumblr  |  Pinterest  |  Bloglovin’

15 thoughts on “My State Park Day-Trip

  1. janahpinku says:

    OMG Look at that grumpy owl haha!

    I think this is the first post where I got to see you in the photo. You’re so pretty, Lauren!

    Thanks for sharing this lovely trip with us. Zoos are really such a fun place to be! 💕

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

