Bed-spiration

Hey guys! Something crazy happened last night: we broke our bed. So the bed has been making an annoying squeaking noise for a while now. Anytime someone moves, it just squeaks obnoxiously and so loudly. It wakes me up in the middle of the night when my boyfriend moves or gets up. Sooooo last night I decided I wanted to take apart the entire bed and fix it because I’ve been waking up exhausted from continually being woken up during the night.

We took the mattress off and started taking apart the various parts of the bed, hoping we could find the problem somewhere. We discovered that the wood on one of the sides had starting splitting, but that wasn’t the cause of the squeaking. We tightened all the screws and oiled some of the hinges where the squeaking was coming from. Turns out that didn’t even fix the problem. But by this time it was around 9:30 at night and we didn’t want to mess with it anymore. But my boyfriend decided to try to fix the wood that was splitting. Somehow he ended up pushing it too much and it completely split off and broke.

 

The whole bed was tilted to the side and it definitely wasn’t in condition to be slept on. Luckily we we able to prop it up with bed risers for now, but the conclusion of the story is: I’m in need of a new bed now. It’s kind of annoying that we have to go spend money on a big ticket furniture item, but at the same time, I’m excited to get to pick out a new bed. Our current bed is one my boyfriend already had when we moved in together, so it doesn’t really match with the rest of our furniture.

So I’ve been looking on Pinterest (of course) for some bed-spiration. I’ve also wanted to get a new duvet for a while, so this will be the perfect excuse. We’ll start out completely fresh. I’m thinking maybe I would like a light neutral upholstered headboard this time. Here are some of the looks I was loving from Pinterest:

6a4716efd88d793124e05b8e26b7d2e915ae65255f118074bbd7f5219b0eb6a8e36a60c9c673db9e0d871f779b79090afb290730ae63729bbe41afa072482a9a

25ebe4873a0ad08095ce7f76250c35020159e1f3b0a5fa30d8ac1c3be58b6a3715359d56e1e99d5d3041040b08857cb3

 

blog-signature-1

 

LET’S BE FRIENDS:

Instagram  |  Tumblr  |  Pinterest  |  Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “Bed-spiration

  1. Britney says:

    You should consider getting a platform bed. It looks like quite a few of the images you posted are platform beds. I have one, and I couldn’t imagine going back to a boxspring type of bed. The last one I had started squeaking too and springs would poke into my back. I love my platform bed because it’s literally just a mattress on a wooden frame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lauren's Notebook says:

      I’m pretty sure we currently have a platform bed (it’s the Malm from IKEA). I’m going to attribute the squeaking and breaking to it being poor quality. I do like the style though, as you can see from the pictures! Thanks for your suggestions! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

